How To Get a Motorcycle License in Alaska
Riding a motorcycle is an enjoyable pastime for many people. Not only can motorcycles be a mode of transportation, they can become a hobby that gets those that ride outdoors in the fresh air and maybe even give them a chance to socialize with other motorcycle aficionados. Like all other vehicles, however, motorcycles and motorized scooters must be properly registered with the Department Of Motor Vehicles, and an Alaska motorcycle license must be obtained.
Classes of License
There are 3 types of motorcycle license depending on engine size and configuration:
- M1–Any motorcycle fits in this category and requires the driver to be at least 16 years old
- M2–Motor scooters and motorized bicycles. A minimum age of 14 is necessary to get this license
- M3–3 wheeled motorcycles.Drivers must be at least 16 years old
What You Need For The DMV
In order to obtain a license you will need to bring proof of your legal name and date of birth, proof of current residence, and social security card. To prove legal name and birth date you may bring an original birth certificate, Military identification for active duty, passport, or Alaska State Identification Card. A second document will be needed to verify–this can include a school ID, employee ID, health insurance card, or state tax form. Verification of your residence can be done through providing a utility bill, paycheck stub, or mortgage or rental documents.
Alaska Motorcycle License Tests
To get an Alaska Motorcycle License you will first need to obtain a permit and drive with a parent or instructor for 6 months if you are under 18 years old. To receive a permit you must pass the written knowledge test and vision test. All permit drivers are required by law to wear a helmet, and it is strongly suggested that all motorcycle drivers wear a helmet at all times for safety.
To apply for this license you must be at least 16 years old and have parental consent. Licenses are valid for 5 years and expire on your birthday. You must pass a written motorcycle test, vision test, and motorcycle road test.
A minimum age of 14 is required for this permit and requires parental consent. You must pass a vision test, motorcycle knowledge test and road test. Note that this test pertains only to a motorized scooter or bicycle; 16 is the minimum age that Alaska residents can operate a motorcycle or automobile.
The M3 license is for the purpose of operating a 3 wheeled motorcycle; the minimum age is 16 years old and like with the other tests will require a motorcycle knowledge test, road test, and vision test.
Alaska requires that all residents pass their own motorcycle testing standards, so if you will not be granted motorcycle privileges if you are licensed in another state; you will still need to take the written and road test at the Alaska DMV.
Permit.Bike is singularly devoted to the purpose of providing an easy-to-learn and simple approach to the act of riding.