How To Get a Motorcycle License in Delaware
Every state in the United States has a different process for issuing a person a motorcycle license. Anyone in the state of Delaware who is thinking about obtaining a Delaware motorcycle license will want to obtain a regular driver’s license the first. The process for obtaining a valid Delaware driver’s license begins with a Driver’s Education course and a Graduated Driver’s License Program. A teen who is between 16 and 18 years of age need to take the GDL program to qualify for a provisional license. The provisional license will change to an unrestricted license when the teen turns 17 years old.
Materials Needed to Obtain a Motorcycle Endorsement in Delaware
Any person who is interested in receiving a Delaware motorcycle license will need to have knowledge of the road rules and have motorcycle operation experience. The Delaware Motorcycle Operation Manual contains the rules and regulations for safe and appropriate motorcycle operation. Motorcycle riding is different from regular vehicle operation. Therefore, a driver will want to read the manual thoroughly to pass the written exam. Some practice tests are available online for people who want to see if they have the knowledge before they schedule their test.
An applicant will also want to obtain motorcycle-riding experience. Teenagers who are under 18 must take a 15-hour motorcycle rider course through Delaware State. The course educates the student on the riding regulations and other important information. Students will learn motorcycle controls, basic riding skills, advanced turning, braking methods and various street strategies. The riding lessons include anti-collision maneuvers, advanced turning and braking strategies, shifting, stopping, riding and turning. The course costs $50 for Delaware residents, and it is open to people who are over the age of 18 if they want to obtain additional skills. Out-of-state residents must pay a $200 fee.
Requirements for Adding a Motorcycle Endorsement to Existing License
Adults who would like to add a motorcycle endorsement to an existing license can do so by visiting a Division of Motor Vehicles office in Delaware. The process requires the applicant to complete an application in person. Residents are not authorized to submit photocopies of their applications. New applicants will have to have a picture taken, and they will have to have to supply the DMV with a thumbprint. Next, the person will have to pay an application fee before proceeding to the next level of qualifying for a Delaware motorcycle license.
The Written Test
The written test is the first exam that the applicant will have to pass. The exam tests the person’s knowledge on the traffic rules and the law regulations. The test will ask questions about the helmet laws, and it will ask the rider what to do in special driving conditions. Studying the manual is the best way to pass the written test. Taking a practice exam will help to prepare the person for the types of questions the exam will ask. Applicants must pass the written test before they can advance to the other parts of the test.
The Vision Exam Requirements
The state of Delaware requires a motorcycle license applicant to have acceptable vision. Therefore, the DMV issues vision tests to new applicants. The state requires that a motorcycle driver have at least 20/40 vision for unrestricted driving. A person who fails the vision test must take a form to an ophthalmologist and receive an evaluation. The doctor must examine the person and issue any corrective eyewear that he or she needs. The specialist must also complete the form and notify the DMV of any restrictions such as daylight-only vehicle operation. The applicant will bring the form back to the DMV and retake the exam.
The Road Test
The road test has two parts to it. The first part of the Delaware motorcycle exam road test pertains the traffic signs and signals. An efficient driver must know the different signs and the way that the state of Delaware expects him or her to react in the presence of such signs. A motorcycle rider will need to know how to co-exist with automobile drivers and communicate with them in a safe fashion. The applicant can pay the $8 fee for the motorcycle endorsement after he or she passes the road test exam. However, the payment only qualifies the person for a motorcycle permit. The individual must take the second part of the exam before the state will issue a permanent motorcycle license.
The temporary motorcycle license allows a rider to operate the motorcycle between sunrise and sunset. The person must not operate the motorcycle on major highways, and the person must not carry passengers. A rider must wear protective gear at all time. The temporary motorcycle license allows the person to practice maneuvers that he or she will have to perform on the road test. The DMV office issues the official road test for motorcycle endorsement. To obtain the endorsement, the rider will have to show skill in braking, turning, speed and following distances.
Permit.Bike is singularly devoted to the purpose of providing an easy-to-learn and simple approach to the act of riding.